Diet Overload and Diet Confusion

September 8, 2011 § Leave a comment

As previously noted, I read diet books like others read novels. I have not tried following all of the diets that I have read about, but I have tested a fair amount of them. I consider myself to be a fairly educated dieter. I know what the macronutrients are and how many calories a gram of each contains. I know what a calorie is and I understand how to read a nutrition label. So why is that I feel completely paralyzed by all of the information.

During the past several months, I have read the following diet books:

  • Clean: The Revolutionary Program to Restore the Body’s Natural Ability to Heal Itself by Dr. Alejandro Junger
  • Green for Life by Victoria Boutenko
  • The Raw Food Detox Diet: the Five Step Plan for Vibrant Health and Maximum Weight Loss by Natalia Rose
  • Detox for Women: An All New Approach for a Sleek Body and Radiant Health in 4 Weeks by Natalia Rose
  • Raw Food Life Force Energy: A Totally New Stratosphere of Weight Loss, Beauty and Health by Natalia Rose
  • Skinny Bitch by Rory Freedman and Kim Barnouin
  • Women, Food and God by Geneen Roth
  • This is Why You’re Fat and How to Get Thin Forever by Jackie Warner
  • Your Best Body Now by Tosca Reno (currently reading)

So, added to my internal data base of diet advice gleaned through the years from the work of Drs. Atkins, Sears, Dukan and Perricone, I’ve learned that raw, vegan food is best. Preferably liquified into smoothies or better yet, juiced. Except that fruit juices are pure sugar and its better to eat the fruit whole. But you have to eat plenty of lean protein like chicken breast or fish, and always with a complex carb like whole grains. Except that wheat is not healthy and you should never eat proteins (“flesh foods”) with carbs.

I am a well-read, utterly confused not-so-pleasantly plump, frustrated woman. I know from past experience, that I used to lose weight pretty quickly and effectively on low carb/low fat plans, like Dukan. My complete fatigue and complete lack of interest in eating were two unpleasant side-effects. I also know that I felt pretty great on the Clean’s detox plan but I became pretty tired of the prep work. Plus, the list of “no’s” on the plan made it pretty difficult to follow in the real world.

I recognize that I am searching for a “magical” diet – a plan with clear cut and easy to follow rules, that does not take a lot of effort to prepare meals, that works and works quickly and that I can live with for a prolonged period of time. Anyone know of such a plan?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading Diet Overload and Diet Confusion at Sisyphus' Rock.

meta

