Pushing the Rock: Finding Motivation to Lose Weight and Get in Shape

September 4, 2011 § Leave a comment

The most difficult things about losing weight and getting in shape is taking that first step and starting a program. The second most difficult thing about losing weight and getting in shape is to keep going on a program. It’s one thing to start pushing the rock up the hill, but it’s another thing all together to keep pushing it up hill – one moment of hesitation and gravity takes over and the boulder rolls over you, all the way back down the hill.

Right now, I’m having a hard time finding the motivation to actually start a diet/workout regime. It’s been years since I had crystal-clear motivation. The only thing that got me to 123 lbs for my wedding was the fear that guests I had not seen in years would think that I looked fat in my wedding gown. But once the wedding was over, so was my motivation.

Every now I again, I get micro-bursts of inspiration. I get frustrated that I have a whole wardrobe in my closet that doesn’t fit anymore, or I see a recent photo of myself and I cringe. It’s usually enough to get me going. For a couple of days or a couple of weeks but then I regress. And a few weeks later, I go through the whole process again.

Where do you get your motivation?

Tagged: , ,

Thoughts?

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pushing the Rock: Finding Motivation to Lose Weight and Get in Shape at Sisyphus' Rock.

meta

